Tallaght 5 DLSP 16

Aaron Morgan
Aaron Morgan

Tallaght R.F.C. 05

DLSP R.F.C. 16

Tries: Aaron Morgan

Metro League Division 7
Tymon Park

Tallaght’s four game winning run came to an end as they lost at home to DLSP. The mountain people started better and were beating far too many Tallaght defenders with some mazy running from their back three. Eventually the pressure told and they scored a try which was superbly converted by their fly-half. Tallaght should have hit right back when they engineered a superb chance from a scrum near the DLSP line but poor passing meant the chance was spurned. As in any game against DLSP there was constant niggly off the ball tactics which distracted Tallaght from playing their game and DLSP kicked another penalty to make it 10-0 to the visitors at half-time.

The game continued in the same frustrating manner in the second half. When Tallaght played their game, they created chances and Aaron Morgan looked to have scored a try but it was called back for a forward pass. But mostly Tallaght found themselves drawn into a physical battle, which was exactly what DLSP wanted. Tallaght were defending well with Stephen Kelly and Ciaran Rudd putting in a strong shift, but DLSP had a lethal kicker at out-half and he kicked two more excellent penalties to put them clear at 16-0 up. Tallaght kept fighting and Aaron Morgan scored a try for Tallaght with the final play of the game, a just reward for the flanker who worked tirelessly throughout the match. However DLSP were deserving 16-5 winners and they now go ahead of Tallaght in second place in the table.

Tallaght coach Tom Leigh was disappointed with the result and the performance. “We didn’t play well enough to win today. Once again, we let them get in our heads and didn’t deal well enough with what they were throwing at us. We’ve got to learn quickly from this and hit back next week at home to Blackrock in our last game before Christmas. It was a bad day, but it happens, and what’s vital is how we react to it.”

Ken McGovern
Ken McGovern

Man of the match: Aaron Morgan


Tallaght RFC

15. Simon Collie
14. Gavin McKeon
13. Stephen Heaney
12. Morgan Farrell
11. Ciaran Rudd
10. Willie Lambe
9. Andew Rudd

8. Adam Nolan
7. Aaron Morgan
6. Jack Russell
5. Paul Cunningham (Captain)
4. Joe Ivers
3. Sean Judd
2. Stephen Kelly
1. Declan Malone


16. Nigel Foster
17. Andy Grace
18. Emil Wyrebiak
19. Gary Doyle
20. Owen Tyrrell
21. John Cowan

Report: Jim O’Connor
Photos: Anne Kavanagh

Not even a Yellow Card
Not even a Yellow Card
Ste Kelly
Ste Kelly
Gary Doyle
Gary Doyle

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *