Tries: Emil Wyrebiak 2, Simon Sweeney

Con: Ciaran Stewart 2

Pen: Ciaran Stewart 2


A.I.B. R.F.C. 10


Pre-Season Friendly


Report by Jim O’Connor.

Tallaght rugby started their new season with a good win against AIB in a pre-season friendly. AIB got the better start and ran in a soft try down the Tallaght wing after some decent passing. From then on though, Tallaght dominated helped by returning club legends Simon Sweeney, Declan Malone and Jack Russell who carried the ball with real menace. Constant pressure from the pack yielded a penalty and out-half Ciaran Stewart converted to make it 5-3. Tallaght were somewhat frustrating after that for a while, with loads of possession but an inability to score, although winger Stephen Heaney went close after an excellent run down the wing.

The pressure told eventually and Emil Wyrebiak broke through on the wing and showed great power and dexterity to stretch for the try. Stewart’s touchline conversion drifted narrowly short but Tallaght now had a lead they would hold to half-time. Tallaght continued to dominate play and were offloading with purpose. This led to a second try for Wyrebiak when he took Alan Bernes’s pass and ran the ball in under the posts. Stewart converted and now Tallaght had a commanding ten point lead.

Coach Brian Curtis took the opportunity to get his bench some game-time. Wingers John Cowan and Chris Irabour both put in impressive shifts and number eight Sean Judd made a number of excellent turnovers. The game was settled in the third quarter though when the skipper Simon Sweeney powered through in typical fashion for a try which Stewart converted. Stewart tacked on a penalty to make it 25 unanswered points for Tallaght.

To be fair to AIB, they kept on competing and scored the final try of the game to make the final score 25-10. It was a useful start from Tallaght but they know they need more players to create a squad that will see them through the full season. They train up in Ballymana lane on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 7PM and everyone is welcome, regardless of experience. See tallaghtrugby.com for details.


Tallaght R.F.C.

15 Alan Bernes

14 Stephen Heaney

13 Dave Clarke

12 Jack Russell

11 Emil Wyrebiak

10 Ciaran Stewart

9 Aodhan Tinney


8 Sam Lawless

7 Simon Sweeney (captain)

6 Paul Cunningham

5 Alan Moore

4 Joe Ivers

3 Declan Malone

2 Ollie Murphy

1 Tony McManus




Sean Judd

Darran Kearney

John Cowan

Chris Irabour

Dave Kelly


REPORT by Jim O’Connor.