Try: Aaron Morgan
Con: Danny Behan
Pen: Ciaran Stewart

Stillorgan R.F.C. 9

Metro League Division 7
07/12/13 Tymon Park

Tallaght bounced back from their disappointing defeat against Coolmine last week by beating Stillorgan 10-9 at home in their final match before the Christmas break. Tallaght seemed to be on fire for the opening five minutes driving Stillorgan back and setting up camp in their 22. It looked like it was going to be a long day for Stillorgan but they managed to soak up attack after attack to leave Tallaght frustrated and scoreless.

Stillorgan launched a smart counter-attack to get into the Tallaght twenty-two. Under pressure, Tallaght gave away a penalty which Stillorgan converted to lead by three. Tallaght dug deep, inched their way forward and were rewarded with a penalty which Ciaran Stewart kicked superbly to level the game. It was a real end-to-end match and Stillorgan appeared to get stronger as the game went on. Once again Stillorgan earned a penalty from this pressure which they kicked to go 6-3 ahead at half-time.

Tallaght started the second half as they did the first, full of aggressive running. Some wonderful interplay down the wing resulted in Aaron Morgan getting over the line to secure the try. Danny Behan converted to give Tallaght a 10 -6 lead. To Stillorgan’s credit they were dangerous and they weren’t giving up. It was a real nail biter of a game and when Stillorgan were awarded another penalty which they converted it was down to a one point lead for Tallaght.

Despite the tense finish Tallaght showed good composure to see the game out and hang on for the win. It leaves them once again five points clear in second place in the race to finish in the top two to contest the final for the Division 7 trophy. Tallaght now have a month off over Christmas and their next match is on January the 11th away to Old Wesley.

Tallaght R.F.C.

15 Alan Bernes
14 Vilius Kuklis
13 Stephen Heaney
12 James Maher
11 Richard Wilson
10 Ciaran Stewart
9 Gary Doyle

8 Simon Sweeney (captain)
7 Patrick Crofts
6 Jack Russell
5 Paul Cunningham
4 Alan Moore
3 Declan Malone
2 Ollie Murphy
1 Tony McManus


Simon Cumiskey
Aodhan Tinney
Sean Judd
Aaron Morgan
Danny Behan

Report by Jim O’Connor