Tallaght Awards Night
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel, 12th April, 2014
Tallaght held their end of season bash at the Louis Fitzgerald hotel at Newlands Cross. In attendance was the Minister for Communications and Natural Resources and local TD, Pat Rabbitte, who was given an honorary club membership.

Tallaght head coach for the men’s squad, Brian Curtis, presented Paul Cunningham with the player of the year award. Paul has been a model of consistency for the team playing either in the second or back row and he shared the captaincy of the team with Simon Sweeney. Aodhan Tinney was presented with the most improved player award. Aodhan only started playing scrum-half last season, a very difficult position to master, but his work-rate and diligence have become very important to the side. Stephen Heaney would have been a strong contender for both the main awards but had to be content with the Try of the year award for his outlandishly cheeky effort against Clondalkin, where he ran in from the halfway line, selling a massive dummy along the way.

Bryan Tyrrell, coach of the women’s team, presented the player of the year award to Catherine Murphy. Catherine, who plays in the second row, has grown into one of the team’s most important players, endlessly enthusiastic and supportive of her team-mates who know they can always count on her. Michelle Tyrrell was presented with the most improved player award. Michelle switched from full back to scrum-half this season and she has become a hugely effective player and a real team leader. Niamh Herrity was presented with the Try of the year award for her fantastic individual effort against Old Belvedere when she ran in from fifty metres out, handing off several defenders on her way.

Director of rugby Brian Curtis, who announced he was stepping down as head coach on the night, was deservedly given the Paul Cusack Club Person of the year award for the huge amount of work he does for both the men’s team and the club in general. The club wishes to thank Tony McManus and Lorraine Cleary and everyone else who helped to organise what was a wonderful evening and a proud night for the club.

Jim O’Connor


3 lady winners



Credit: Ray Brennan for photos.