Tries: Andrew Rudd 2, Stephen Heaney, Colm O’Reilly, Tony McManus
Pen: Paul Cunningham, Brian Tyrrell
Conversions: Paul Cunningham, Brian Tyrrell

John Madden Plate Final
Estuary Road, Malahide

Tallaght Champs 1

Tallaght rugby ended their season by beating the BGF Ravens in a thrilling final to take the John Madden Plate. The Ravens, who represent Ballymun, Glasnevin and Finglas and were formerly known as Unidare, took the lead with a penalty but Tallaght soon levelled the scores with a penalty of their own from Brian Tyrrell. Then the game came to life when Andrew Rudd went over for an unconverted try to make it 8-3 to Tallaght.

The Ravens hit back with two converted tries to take a commanding 17-8 lead. But Tallaght replied with unconverted tries by Colm O’Reilly and Tony McManus to lead 18-17. The seesaw nature of the game continued as the Ravens came back with a five-pointer to make it 22-18 to them. But then Andrew Rudd went over for his second try of the match to regain the lead for Tallaght and Tyrrell converted to make it 25-22.

Skipper Paul Cunningham took over the kicking and hit a fine penalty to make it 28-22 to Tallaght. Then, with only two minutes left, the Ravens has Tallaght under pressure in their own half but the ball was turned over and worked out wide to Stephen Heaney who went nearly the length of the pitch to score the clinching try. Cunningham kicked the conversion and Tallaght were champions.

It was a deserved ending in what has often been a tough season for the club. It was also a fitting end to the Tallaght careers of Joe Ivers and Alan Bernes, who are both retiring. They were tireless workers for the club, both on and off the pitch, and they will be missed.

Tallaght Champs 2


Tallaght RFC

15. Alan Bernes
14. Karl Seagrave
13. Dave Clarke
12. Shaun Scammell
11. Colm O’Reilly
10. Stephen Heaney
9. Andrew Rudd

8. Sean Judd
7. Kevin Quinn
6. Paul Cunningham
5. Alan Moore
4. Joe Ivers
3. David Kelly
2. Stephen Kelly
1. Tony McManus


16. Dave Judd
17. Emil Wyrebiak
18. Aaron Morgan
19. Ciaran Rudd
20. Michael Roche
21. Brian Tyrrell
Report by Jim O’Connor