Tries: Dave Clarke
Pen: Brian Tyrrell

Metro League Division 7
Kirwan Park

Tallaght travelled to Stepaside to take on DLSP in their third league match of the season. In a fairly scrappy first half things were quite even with DLSP kicking a penalty in the only score of the half to lead 3-0. Tallaght had some chances of their own but couldn’t convert them with the boot.

The second half initially continued in the same manner as both sides were guilty of several handling errors. Then suddenly the game burst into life as DLSP scored three tries in five minutes. The first try came in the corner after a consistent spell of pressure. Then from a Tallaght fumble the ball was hacked on and though the touchdown looked a little like a knock on, the referee gave the try. Then straight from the restart the DLSP winger showed great pace to score under the posts. So a tight match was suddenly 22-0 to DLSP.

DLSP scored another good try to make it 27-0 before Tallaght finally came to life in the last ten minutes. After strong carries by Brian Tyrrell and Sean Judd, Stephen Heaney put his fellow centre Dave Clarke in for a try under the posts. Tyrrell converted before having to go off injured, which was a shame as he’d had a fine game. Tallaght came close to scoring again but Tony McManus was held up over the line and it finished 27-7 to DLSP.

The home team were deserved winners but the score certainly didn’t tell the story of the game. Tallaght will regret that they couldn’t get their attacking game going while the match was still tight.

Tallaght RFC

15. Colm O’Reilly
14. Mark Conway
13. Dave Clarke
12. Stephen Heaney
11. Aodhan Tinney
10. Willie Lambe
9. Andrew Rudd

8. Sean Judd
7. Brian Tyrrell
6. Kevin Quinn
5. Paul Cunningham
4. Kevin Ennis
3. Mark Gaynor
2. Stephen Kelly
1. Tony McManus


16. Dave Judd
17. Arran O’Loughlin
18. Conor O’Dea
19. Gavin McKeon

Jim O’Connor ©