De La Salle Palmerston R.F.C. 27

Tallaght R.F.C. 17

Tries: Pen Try, Dave Clarke, Vilius Kuklis
Con: Willie Lambe

Metro League Division 7
Kirwan Park

Tallaght made their second trip of the season to Stepaside as they took on DLSP in the Metro League. Talaght were well off the pace though in the first half as DLSP took a 17-0 lead with three tries, including one for former Tallaght player Trevor Byrne. Things improved in the second half and full back Simon Collie was about to score a try in the corner when he was tackled high. The referee awarded a penalty try but the conversion was missed which left the score at 17-5.

DLSP hit back though with a second try of the day for Byrne. The try was converted and they tacked on a penalty to lead 27-7. Tallaght finally came alive in the final 15 minutes. First smart work at a ruck by Tony McManus put Dave Clarke away for a try, which Willie Lambe converted. Then a barnstorming run by number eight Emil Wyrebiak put Tallaght in a good position and good hands from Ciaran Rudd put Vilius Kuklis in an excellent try in the corner. Suddenly Tallaght were within ten points and DLSP were panicking a little.

However two more chances were squandered and time ran out of Tallaght and the game finished 27-17 to DLSP, who were deserved winners. But Tallaght will be kicking themselves for that poor first half and the fact that they didn’t attack out wide earlier in the game.


Man of the match: Emil Wyrebiak


Tallaght RFC

15. Simon Collie
14. Karl Seagrave
13. Willie Lambe
12. Dave Clarke
11. Alan Bernes
10. Morgan Farrell
9. Aodhan Tinney

8. Emil Wyrebiak
7. Vilius Kuklis
6. Brian Tyrrell
5. Joe Ivers
4. Paul Cunningham
3. Tony McManus
2. Simon Gaskell
1. Sean Judd


16. Ciaran Rudd
17. Gavin McKeon
18. Stephen Kelly
19. Kevin Quinn


Jim O’Connor