Ed O’Brien


Railway Union R.F.C. 37

Tallaght ‘B’ R.F.C. 17

Tries: Karl Segrave 2, Simon Collie 2, Alan Sower
Con: Morgan Farrell 2, Dave Clarke
Pen: Morgan Farrell, Dave Clarke

Dr Kieran Foley Cup (J5) – Group B
Park Avenue

Tallaght’s B team took on Railway Union in their first match of the Dr Kieran Foley Cup in Park Avenue. They got off to a great start when scrum-half Karl “Moonbeam” Segrave scored a try. Morgan Farrell converted that try and added a penalty to make it 10-0 to Tallaght. Then replacement back Simon Collie scored a fine try which Farrell converted to make it 17-0 to Tallaght. However Railway Union rallied and score an unconverted try to make it 17-5 at half-time.

Despite earning a yellow card, Railway continued their comeback and they scored two more tries and converted one of them to draw the match level at 17-all. Tallaght regained control of the game though when Segrave scored his second try of the match to make it 22-17 to Tallaght. Dave Clarke had taken over kicking duties from the injured Morgan Farrell and he kicked a penalty to make it 25-17 to Tallaght. Then Simon Collie scored his second try of the match to seal the win and Clarke converted and Alan Sower tagged on a late try to make the final score 37-17.

Man of the match: Ed O’Brien

Tallaght ‘B’
15. Emil Wyrebiak
14. John Cowan
13. John Burke
12. Gavin McKeon
11. Patrik Toth
10. Morgan Farrell
9. Karl Segrave

1. Nigel Foster
2. Stephen Kelly
3. Tony McManus
4. Ed O’Brien
5. Paul Savage
6. Dave Kelly
7. Arran O’Loughlin
8. Sean Judd


16. Alan Sower
17. Simon Collie
18. Stephen Heaney
19. Simon Gaskell
20. Aodhan Tinney
21. Dave Clarke

Report: Lorraine Cleary and Jim O’Connor
Photos: Lorraine Cleary