Alan Moore – Player of the year

The annual club awards were held at the Old Mill bar on Saturday the 18th of May. First up were the women’s team and Ellen Crotty was given the award for try of the year. Then Seana Greenhalgh and Karen Corrigan were given a joint award for Best Newcomers after they both only took up the sport this season. Finally Martina Fitzpatrick was named player of the year. Martina led from the front and was one of the most consistent players in the team.

Then it was the men’s turn and young Tony O’Loughlin was awarded the seconds team player of the year. Padhraig Jones was given the award for the try of the season for his fine effort against Bective. Rob Hudson was then given the Most Improved player award for his outstanding scoring this season in terms of tries and kicks. Then head coach Tom Leigh presented Alan Sower with the player’s player of the year award. Sower is a player who can play anywhere in the pack and his consistency of performance won him the players’ admiration. Then Alan Moore was awarded the player of the year award. Moore rejoined the club this season and his power in the second row and his lineout ability was crucial in Tallaght winning the league and cup double.

Director of Rugby Luke Tyrrell then presented the Philip Preston award for outstanding work with youths to Aileen McGovern who has done great work coaching the Bisto’s girls team this season. Then Tyrrell presented the club person of the year award to club captain Adam Nolan for his tireless efforts off the field including coaching the women’s team. Conor Montague was also named youth’s coach of the year. Young Elliot Leigh was also voted supporter of the year and the award was accepted on his behalf by his father Tom.

Finally thanks to all the staff and to Shauna Power and Aoife Davoren for organising a great night in the Old Mill and also to Anne Kavanagh for taking the photos.

Ellen Crotty Try of the Year
Seana Greenhalgh – Joint best newcomer
Martina Fitzpatrick – Player of the year
Adam Nolan – Club person of the year
Aileen McGovern – Philip Preston award
Tony O’Loughlin – Seconds player of the year
Padhraig Jones – Try of the year
Rob Hudson – Most Improved player
Alan Sower – Player’s player of the year