Aisling Pyke

Tallaght R.F.C. 17

Tries: Megan Fogarty 2, Aisling Pyke
Con: Louise Lombard

CYM R.F.C. 27

Women’s League Division 4
Tymon Park

The Tallaght women’s team kicked off their Division 4 campaign by hosting CYM in Tymon Park. They got off to a great start when full back Megan Fogarty broke away for a fine try to give Tallaght a 5-0 lead. Straight from the kick-off number eight Aisling Pyke broke a tackle and showed great pace to race away for a second try to make it 10-0. After a great start Tallaght’s performance started to decline. They began falling off tackles and when in possession they were too slow to get to the ball carrier which led to lots of turnovers. CYM hit back with two quick tries. Aisling Pyke managed to block the first conversion but the second one went over to give CYM a 12-10 lead. CYM added a third try to lead 17-10 at half-time.

The second half remained scoreless for nearly thirty minutes. Eventually though Megan Fogarty spotted a gap and raced away for a superb individual try. Louise Lombard kicked the conversion and the sides were level. Unfortunately Tallaght got turned over in their own twenty two and CYM got it wide to score a try in the corner to restore their lead. Tallaght desperately looked for a winning score but instead CYM got the final try of the match to win 27-17.

Tallaght’s coach Niall Mahon was disappointed with the result but were pleased with the effort of his players. “We worked hard throughout and scored some good tries. But our defence let us down and that is something we need to work on in training. Aisling Pyke had a fine game, as did Grainne Flood in her first game of rugby. But Megan Fogarty was our player of the match. She made several great hits and scored two fine tries.”

Woman of the match: Megan Fogarty


  1. Dara Silva Oliveira
  2. Martina Fitzpatrick (Captain)
  3. Karen Corrigan
  4. Ciara Corcoran
  5. Aimee Travers
  6. Lisa Connors
  7. Vicky Cobbe
  8. Aisling Pyke
  9. Eileen Shanahan
  10. Grainne Flood
  11. Angelika Gertz
  12. Louise Lombard
  13. Marta Hoppe
  14. Lisa O’Connell
  15. Megan Fogarty
  16. Ellen Crotty
  17. Seana Greenhalgh

Report: Jim O’Connor
Photo: Paul Cronin