Karl Segrave

CYM 24

Tallaght 2nds 41

Tries: Niall Mahon 2, Karl Segrave, Tony O’Loughlin 2, Jordan Corrigan, Daryl Keogh

Conversion: Brandon Wilson 3

Metro League Division 11
Terenure Road North

It was first versus second in Division 11 and leaders Tallaght took on CYM. The re-arranged fixture was switched to Terenure because Tymon Park was unplayable. Tallaght took a 5-0 lead when Niall Mahon stole a lineout near the CYM line and touched the ball down for a try. CYM hit back with a try from a quick tap near the Tallaght line and they kicked the conversion to make it 7-5.

Tallaght hit back quickly to retake the lead. After strong carries from Andy Caswell and Colin Morrison, scrum-half Karl Segrave spotted a gap and raced through to score a try. Brandon Wilson converted to make it 12-7 to Tallaght. Tony O’Loughlin was impressing again in the pack and he showed his power to score from close range to make it 17-7 to Tallaght. CYM reduced the gap with a try to make it 17-12. But Tallaght responded well again when Ciaran Stewart showed good awareness to put centre Jordan Corrigan in for a try to make the half-time score 22-12 to Tallaght.

Tallaght started the second half positively when Niall Mahon intercepted a pass in his own half to race away for a try which Wilson converted to make it 29-12. Daryl Keogh then went over for a fine try which Wilson converted to make it 36-12. CYM kept fighting and they scored two more tries either side of Tony O’Loughlin’s second try for Tallaght to make the final score 41-24.

Tallaght player-coach Simon Gaskell was delighted with the win and the performance. “It’s a big ask to get people out to play on the second last Saturday before Christmas. So I really want to thank all the sixteen players who turned up today. After a stop-start beginning to the season we’ve now have a run of three consecutive games and we’ve won all three. It’s great to see the understanding building between players and that’s showing in the performances. It’s nice to be four points clear at the top of the table for the Christmas break but we know we’ve got a massive game against Clondalkin when we come back in January so that will be our focus now. I couldn’t pick an individual player out so the whole squad gets the man of the match award.”

Man of the match: The entire squad


1. Shane Mooney
2. Gary Kinsella
3. Andrew Caswell
4. Padraig O’Ciadha
5. Patrik Toth
6.  Tony O’Loughlin
7. Colin Morrison
8. Niall Mahon
9. Karl Segrave
10. Ciaran Stewart
11. Michael Corrigan
12. Daryl Keogh
13. Jordan Corrigan
14. Brandon Wilson
15. Wayne Stewart
16. Simon Collie