Daryl Keogh

Newbridge 36

Tallaght 2nds 17

Try: Daryl Keogh, Leön Tanfin, Karl Segrave
Con: Daryl Keogh

Metro League Division 9


The Tallaght men’s second team took on Newbridge in the Metro League Division 9 on a damp November afternoon.

Tallaght had to play with a man down from the start as they didn’t have any starting props and Newbridge insisted on the rule that Tallaght had to drop a player due to the uncontested scrums. In a league where everyone is struggling for players, most teams don’t insist on it but it showed how desperate Newbridge were for a win.

Tallaght started well despite that and after a break from Leön Tanfin, Daryl Keogh went over for the opening try to give Tallaght a 5-0 lead. However the lead didn’t last long as Newbridge scored a try of their own from the restart and converted it to take a 7-5 lead.

There was no more scores until just before half-time when Newbridge went over for their second try of the match. Their out-half kicked a superb conversion from the sideline but then missed an easy penalty in front of the post to leave the half-time score at 14-5 to the hosts.

Tallaght started the second half well and after strong carries from Alan Moore and Kevin Quinn, Leön Tanfin went through for a try to make the score 14-10. However more injuries left Tallaght playing with thirteen men and Newbridge took advantage to score four tries and converted one of them to take a 36-10 lead.

The referee’s failure to deal with a series of late hits on Tallaght scrum-half Nick McGuinness led to a sense of frustration and a series of unseemly off the ball scuffles. Tallaght at least had the final score of the game when good work from McGuinness was finished off in the corner by Karl Segrave. Daryl Keogh converted to make the final score 36-17 to Newbridge.

Man of the match: Alan Moore

Tallaght RFC

1. Mark Keogh
2. Simon Gaskell
3. Kevin Quinn (Captain)
4. Patrik Toth
5. Joe Ivers
6. Alan Moore
7. Graham Timmins
8. Daryl Keogh
9. Nick McGuinness
10. Karl Segrave
11. John Cowan
12. Michael Corrigan
13. Leön Tanfin
14. Niall Mahon
15. Luke Tyrell

Report: Jim O’Connor